Knowledgebase: E-Mail
Leave a Copy of Messages on Server
Posted by - NA - on 27 September 2008 02:28 PM

Mail clients enable an option to leave a copy of your messages on the server as a backup, so you can read your mail from several computers. If you use this option, each time you ask to receive mail, your mail client fetches a copy of messages from your mail server to your local computer. When you delete messages from your mail client they are deleted only from your local computer. As result, your mailbox on the server could exceed its quota. Large amount of messages on server could result in slow performance and even a failure to receive messages.

Microsoft Outlook Express and Outlook 2000
1.) Click Tools
2.) Click Accounts
3.) Double-click the account created by you
4.) Click the Advanced tab
5.) Verify that Leave a Copy of Messages of Server is checked

Microsoft Outlook 2002 (XP) and 2003
1.) Click Tools
2.) Click Email Accounts
3.) Click View or Change Existing Email Accounts and click Next
4.) Double-click the account created by you
5.) Click the More Settings button
6.) Click the Advanced tab
7.) Verify that 'Leave a Copy of Messages of Server' is checked

Mozilla Thunderbird
1.) Click Tools
2.) Click Account Settings
3.) Click Server Settings underneath the account created by you
4.) Verify that 'Leave messages on server' is checked in the server settings section

Apple Mail
1.) Click Mail
2.) Click Preferences
3.) Click the account created by you
4.) Click the Advanced button
5.) Verify that 'Remove copy from server after retrieving a message' is UNCHECKED.

Microsoft Entourage
1.) Click Tools
2.) Click Accounts
3.) Double-click the account created by you
4.) Click the Options button
5.) Verify that 'Leave a copy of each message on the server' is checked

Qualcomm Eudora
1.) Click the Eudora menu
2.) Click Preferences
3.) Click the Checking Mail icon
4.) Verify that  'Leave on server for ... days' is checked
5.) Fill in number if desired